Workaway 2/2

733FBADF-7F1C-4F5B-A10A-3CB91A475B65

In this article you can read about several experiences in workaway/woofing made by Laura. Everything is in her own words I just made the french translation. This is a following of the first article on workaway.

Dans cette article vous pourrez lire quelques resumés d‘experiences en workaway/woofing vécu par Laura, je me suis juste occupé de la traduction française qui a été laborieuse. Cette article et la conclusion du première article sur le workaway.

 

Finland, Rumo-Rasimäki/Nurmes

With a heavy bag including rain boots and working clothes, I needed long time to get to the place of the four member family in the middle of the forest. I missed the right bus stop and started with a 10 km walk there. No water in the house, compost toilet and drinking water in buckets of a natural spring which has to be carried from afar. For having a “shower” we had sauna once a week. First time I was there, it was spring and I prepared almost their entire huge garden, because they live mainly self sufficient. He is building a log house himself, so I helped him also there, e.g. moving logs, drilling holes, axe works. Besides I made firewood, collected kilos of moss for insulation and helped in the kitchen. The second time I was there in autumn and had the chance to harvest the vegetables I planted which is a great feeling. Furthermore I had the pleasure to get more into their project with community members to build a school of self sufficiency. The simple life and food, the skills and the spirit of the people at this place was one of the best I ever experienced.

Avec un gros sac contenant entre autres une combinaison de travail et des paires de bottes il m’a fallu batailler pour rejoindre la famille perdue au beau milieu de la forêt. Pas d’eaux courantes, toilette sèche, pas de douche seulement un sauna par semaine, une vie à la dur avec pour objectif l’autosuffisance. J’ai aidé à de nombreuses tâches, jardinage, coupe de bois de chauffage, récolte de mousse pour l’isolation, construction d’une maison et d’une école communautaire et aide en cuisine. Vivre simplement, ce nourrir de ses récoltes, travailler de ses mains entouré d’une communauté amicale, cela à été une de mes meilleures expérience.

 

Italy, Fano

First time I stayed one month with the family of four. My task was to take care of the three and one year old girls for a couple of hours – take them out for a walk, playing inside, English practice and of course I was gaining the skill to change a diaper. The beginning was tricky to get respect of the three year old, but very soon we all became a very good team. So good, that I went back in summer for one month and even spent vacation together with them. I became the big sister, no worker and we all learned a lot from each other. I could enjoy best ice cream every day, swimming in the beautiful sea and not to forget the live concerts in the evening, because the host father is a musician.

La première fois je suis resté un mois avec cette petite famille de l’Est de l’Italie. Je devais m’occupais de deux enfants, de trois et un ans. Jouais avec eux, leur faire pratiquer l’anglais et bien sûre changer les couches. Au début cela à été un peu délicat de gagner leurs respect mais au fils des jours nous sommes devenus une bonne équipe. Cela c’est tellement bien passé que je suis revenus passer un second mois durant l’été et je suis devenu plus une grande sœur qu’une employée. J’ai pu manger de délicieuses glaces, nager dans la mer et profiter des concert tous les soirs, le père de famille étant musicien.

 

Italy, Costasavina/Trentino

I still miss the two little boys of seven and five years old, but the parents have been pretty strict and distanced. My task was to teach the kids German, but they had no basics at all what made it more to an Italian lesson for me, but it was fun. We made a lot of pranks together, they happily shown me a bunch of the current YouTube developments and further I became a silent spot for them from their stressed parents. The most part of the day I had time off and enjoyed breathtaking mountain area by bike and foot and spent meditating time at the lake.

Malgré des parents plutôt stricts et distants j’ai beaucoup aimé la compagnie des deux petits garçons de sept et cinq ans. Mon job était d’enseigner l’allemand mais comme ils n’avaient aucune bases de la langue cela c’est vite transformé en leçon d’italien pour moi. Nous avons beaucoup rigoler et blaguer ensemble. Ils m’ont également fait découvrir des vidéos YouTube et je suis devenus un havre de paix loins de leurs parents souvent stressés. Durant mes nombreuses heures de repos j’ai pu profiter des montagnes environnantes et du lacs pour méditer au calme.

 

France, St.Donat/Clermont-Ferrand

A delightful time I spent with a Dutch couple who are running a hotel and restaurant. For my own choice I worked a lot, because it was fun to make so many different tasks in my own rhythm, e.g. ironing, cooking, washing dishes, cleaning rooms, reset the tables, garden works, cutting wood or painting the menu on boards. They completely trusted me and I had enough time for my hobbies, like hiking or collecting herbs and of course my daily walk with the two lovely dogs, often to the waterfall and jumped in the cool water. In the late evening after all work, we had relaxed dinner outside with incredible good food, candlelight and interesting talks. My last week was a fun mix of nationalities and I taught all my knowledge to the next girls, who came from New Zealand, Italy and Russia.

J’ai passé des moments très agréables avec un couple de hollandais tenanciers d’un hôtel restaurant. Par choix j’ai fait de nombreuses heures de travail car je trouvais cela drôle d’accomplire des tâches si variées comme par exemples cuisiner, faire la vaisselle, préparer les tables, jardiner ou encore couper du bois. Le couple avait une confiance totale en moi et j’avais beaucoup d’opportunité de temps libre pour me ballader avec leur chiens et me consacrer à mes hobbies. Les soirées étaient faites de délicieux repas et d’intéressantes discussions. Ma dernière semaines j’ai passé beaucoup de temps à apprendre le métier aux nouvelles volontaires.

 

Corsica, Sisco/Bastia

This time it was childcare of a ten year old boy and a seven year old girl. I was bringing and getting them from school at lunchtime and the afternoon. They have been so thankful that they didn’t had to eat in the school which was very cute. We played together, were walking at the sea, feeding the horse of the village, jumping around at the pool, had picnic in the forest or reading comics. The parents worked all day long, so I had the morning for exploring the beautiful area by bike and go swimming every day. It was also a good start to learn French again.

Je me suis également occupé de deux enfants de dix et sept ans à Sisco. Je les accompagnés sur le trajet de l’école et leurs préparer le repas de midi. C’était vraiment mignon de les voir si heureux de pouvoir manger à la maison et non à la cantine. Nous avons joués ensemble, marcher le long dde la mer, nourrit les chevaux, lus des bd et c’était vraiment sympas. Mes matinées étaient libre et j’ai eu tout le loisir nécessaire pour explorer les environs et apprendre un peu de français.

 

Italy, Fiumefreddo di Sicilia

What a nice time in the paradise close to the sea. The garden of the 78 year old host was full of fruit trees and flowering plants. Every day was something fresh to eat. The main task was the olive harvest, but everything by hand – picking them and cut the trees into shape. We made altogether around 150 l of oil. He also had four dogs that made us laugh a lot with their fights about the only female . In the free time he was taking us helpers around and I did some incredible beautiful hikes to the Etna together with him. He wrote in the feedback the same I felt: we’ve been a very good team and found a good comrade in each other. A truly warm-hearted man with a nice spot to stay.

Dans le jardin paradisiaque de mon hôte de 78 ans j’ai aidé à la récolte manuelle des olives. Nous avons pressé près de 150 litres d’huile. En dehors des heures de travail nous allions régulièrement visiter les alentours tous ensemble, ce qui m’a permis de faire de fantastiques randonnées. J’ai le sentiment que nous avons formés une équipe efficace et ce fut une expérience vraiment agréable.

 

Conclusion

Altogether my experiences with workaway and wwoofing have been very good. With one exception. I’m in contact with everyone and some I even visited two times. It’s a nice and favorable way to explore the culture of a country and learn about lifestyle, food, problems, history etc.
The experience in Lixouri (Greece) was the first time really uncomfortable and I also heard about problems like that before. It is a pity that people try to abuse this thought of exchange and I know for sure that some governments working on shutting down these programs. For that reason people should even more appreciate and use it in an honest, but relaxed way. Obviously it’s not vacation, but there is, or at least should be, enough room for enjoying the region you’ve chosen and the possibility to share or learn new skills.

À l’exception de mes trois semaines à Lixouri, workaway et woofing m’ont toujours offerts de très bonnes expériences, riches en rencontres et en apprentissages . Je suis resté en contact avec les gens rencontrés ainsi qui sont pour la plupart devenu mes amis. Je pense que c’est un excellent moyen de découvrir un pays et sa culture et cela est très dommage que certaines personnes abusent du système. Bien sûre il ne s’agit pas de vacances gratuites mais du temps et de l’espace devrait être laissé aux volontaires pour explorer, découvrir et échanger.

Laisser un commentaire

Entrez vos coordonnées ci-dessous ou cliquez sur une icône pour vous connecter:

Logo WordPress.com

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte WordPress.com. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Google+

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Google+. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Image Twitter

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Twitter. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Facebook

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Facebook. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Connexion à %s